College: a definition

she's getting drunk right after class

The free online dictionary I just found on google describes college as “an institution of higher learning.”  Of course any college student knows that this definition is… lacking.

College is the best 4 (give or take a few) years of your life.  Don’t give me this high school is better bullshit, high school is nice but college is fucking incredible.  I can’t speak for the college commuters though, some of my old high school friends tell me that commuting sucks.  But for those of us not commuting, college is amazing.

We know college is more than just an education.  It’s a social experience.  When else in your lifetime are you going to get to party on your parent’s (or financial aid’s, or free for now.. extreme debt later’s) dime.  You literally take 4 – 6 hour long classes amounting to about 15 hours of actual schooling a week.  Maybe you’ve got lab or discussion groups or some other shit that fills up your time.  But other than that its all up to you.  Hah, you don’t even have to go to your classes if you don’t want too. And you know with so much free time you’re going to fucking rock the shit out of college.

Okay, there are some shitty parts too, like doing your own laundry and homework (if you care about classes) that suck.  I mean I’m not saying independence is perfect.  Still, laundry is not stopping any college student from having a kick ass time.

she knows she's eating that grilled cheese

College is the first time in your life you’re actually independent.  You make your own decisions. You make your own friends, it’s not the same kids you spent the last 12 years in your home town with.  You chose what you want to eat.  Fuck it if its the fourth time that day you’ve had grilled cheese.  It’s your choice. It’s 9 PM, time for a nap, wake up at 2 AM do work till 6, sleep till noon.  You decide when you go to bed.  No one gives a shit what you do.  Get that tattoo you couldn’t tell your parents about. Party every fucking night of the week.  Have sex with that RA in your hall.  No matter what you fucking decide it’s awesome cause it was your decision.

Your college experience is up to you.  I know that’s probably the exact line they told you at your freshmen orientation but it’s true.  You make it as epic as you fucking want.

Personally, I go to my classes and do my homework.  Mommy and Daddy would stop paying if they saw me flunking out.  But the education side of college is not stopping me from having the most fucked up (in a good way) four years of my life.  Trust me the grandkids are gonna hear some good stories.

So, how do we define college?  Like I said.. it’s up to you.  But for real its going to be the greatest years of your fucking life.

Leave a comment